The Carl Online


Reporting from the Santa Fe Film Festival. by tatgers
December 7, 2008, 7:16 pm
Filed under: movies | Tags:

picture-1I’ve been at the Santa Fe Film Festival since Wednesday (the official opening night, though there were screenings as early as Monday) and it has been a hectic…5 days? I’ve spent a lot of time darting between venues for films and panels to the point where the my recollection of films approaches a the arrangement of a jigsaw puzzle. But that might be how memory works in the first place. I’ll leave that to the science majors (not that they care).

Picking out what films and panels to attend is a small ordeal. I’ve tried to balance and mix my attendance of independent films that are less likely to screen off the festival circuit (2:22, Poundcake, Speed of Life, Em, The Brothers Warner, A collection of Iranian shorts) with films that have won awards at other festivals and are bound hit art house cinemas around the country(Gomorra, Waltz With Bashir, Tokyo!). My middle class guilt kicks in every time I skip over a socially conscious film, but I managed to squeeze in Kassim the Dream, which I think will find some kind of distribution, if it hasn’t already, even if it doesn’t hit many theatres.In general, the festival has a very eclectic and balanced selection of big and small, regional and international features. Detracting from the number of films that I can review were the number of panels, which I’ll also do a post on. Consider this a forecast of posts to come…

In the meantime, I’d like to point you in the direction of 2008 alumnus Martha Polk who is the festival’s official blogger/reviewer.
Her blog is something top notch. The Santa Fe Film Festival blog has some more immediate reviews of her’s if you simply can’t wait for the copy paste, but you’ll need to wade through dozens of shameless self promotions (or simply pay attention posts written by Martha). I’m particularly anxious to get to her Synecdoche, New York discussion.  I suspect a number of you might be interested in her coverage of Soderbergh’s Che films, which I wasn’t able to get tickets to when the four hour, two screening beast  showed Wednesday and Thursday night.

-Andrew “Movie-Man” Tatge

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

