The Carl Online


Today… by carlmagazine
October 20, 2010, 6:18 pm
Filed under: Words | Tags:

By Shavera Seneviratne

18th May 2009

Today
I heard
What I thought
I would never hear
In my life.

Today
I saw
An end to
What I feared
Would never end.

Today
I felt
So much…

Today…

Today
I will
Let the relief
Seep in.

Today
I will
Let myself dare
To hope.

Today
I will
Remember
What it cost.

Today
I will
Say a prayer
It will never happen again.

Today…

Yes, today,
I finally
I woke up
To peace.
To a country
United.
To a nation
Under one flag.
To a future
With promise.
To a place
That will be beautiful once more.

Yes, today
I watch
As it rains
For the first time
In weeks,
Washing away
The blood,
The hate,
The fear,
The horror,
The agony.

Today
I will believe,

Today
I will hope,

Today
I will dream,

Today
I will
Leave Yesterday behind
And
Await Tomorrow

Today…

Yes, today
There is faith,

Today
There is trust,

Today
There is optimism,
That Mother Lanka
Will be Paradise again…

Today
Change begins,

Today
Healing begins,

Today
We learn from Yesterday’s mistakes,
And rebuild for Tomorrow.

Yes,
Today
Is
Finally
Here.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

